Un Jour Avec, Un Jour Sans

For my non-Francaise speaking peeps, the title of this post translates to “A Day With, A Day Without”. Euro cyclistes use the phrase “Un jour sans” as a short way to say they didn’t have the legs to pedal well, or to basically describe a bad day on the bike.

However, I had the best day in my recent memory! My legs felt like pistons in a Cummings diesel engine. As can be seen in the Strava screenshot below, I rode a challenging route (what can’t be seen from Strava is that a large chunk of the milage was off highway including logging and rocky coal mining roads). Like the Duke cousins, I flattened the hills and straightened the curves.

How was it also un jour sans? As soon as I finished the descent off of my mountain, I realized I forgot my air pump! I remembered my tubes, patches, multi tool, chain tool, and even a leatherman. Somehow I forgot my air pump even though I knew I would be taking my crossed in places the bony boulders have even flatted mountain bike tires. I thought of turning around, but I actually dreaded the cold morning descent more than the ascent.

This is when I came up with my motto for the rest of the year, and will hopefully get me through Iron
Cross X. Just Ride. That’s right, just ride. Forgot my air pump? Don’t worry about the long hike out of the woods, just ride. Pouring rain and a tornado watch on a Tuesday night? Just ride. Bike a little heavy and you don’t have the latest disc brake system? Just ride. Just slogged up the “run up” on the power lines and your quads, calves and lungs are screaming? Just ride!

Don’t worry about things that can go wrong, the physical challenges facing you on your route, don’t make an excuse why you shouldn’t ride one day….. just ride!

20120919-122846.jpg

Tagged , ,

One thought on “Un Jour Avec, Un Jour Sans

  1. Wendy Kaminski says:

    Love it!!!!! You’re amazing! Your “just ride” can be applied to any of life’s challenges…”just ride”

    Thanks – great blog

Leave a Reply

